No CET for Medical, Dental Aspirants From 2017

No CET for Medical, Dental Aspirants From 2017

The Karnataka Examinations Authority (KEA) on Saturday announced on its website that it would not conduct entrance examination for admission to medical and dental colleges from the coming year.

The Karnataka Examinations Authority (KEA) (earlier CET Cell) has been conducting entrance examinations for various professional courses like MBBS/BDS/Bv.Sc/B.E/Farm Science, ISMH and Pharma courses. Now, as per the orders of the Hon’ble Supreme Court and further ordinance passed by Government of India, from 2017-18 onwards there will be a separate examination conducted by CBSE Board ie., NEET (National Eligibility Entrance Test) for medical and dental courses. The candidates who are willing to take admissions for Medical and Dental courses must necessarily qualify in the NEET examination which will be conducted by the CBSE Board, New Delhi.

It is cleared that from 2017-18 academic year onwards, KEA will not conduct entrance examination for admission to Medical and Dental courses. But, CET examination will be as usual for Karnataka students for others like Engineering, ISMH, Farm science, Bv.Sc and Pharma courses. The candidates who seek to take admission in above mentioned courses have to compulsorily appear for entrance examinations conducted by KEA. The candidates who are taking NEET examinations can also take Karnataka CET examinations separately. 

The candidates who qualify in the NEET examination from Karnataka State are eligible to select Medical or Dental seats based on the NEET score. KEA will prepare the merit list based on the NEET score and allot the Government quota seats of Medical and Dental to the eligible candidates. This allotment will be subject to the directions issued by the Government from time to time. Merit List will be prepared by KEA and the same merit list will be applied for allotment of seats for Government share to medical and Dental courses.

Admission to Government seats shall be made in accordance with the Karnataka Selection of Candidates for admission to Government seats in professional Educational Institution Rules 2006 as amended from time to time”.

Since NEET is being conducted for the first time in Karnataka for Government shared seats, to help students with the changes, KEA has created a link with information on question paper pattern, eligibility criteria, how to register for the exam, syllabus and a sample of last year’s NEET paper.


About NEET 2017: Click Here
NEET 2016 Paper: Click Here

Sharath K.S

Sharath K.S

Founder & MD at Comet Career Group
Person with a vision to make as Students Welfare Programme to help them to empower their career. He leads the product management, operations and counselling teams.
Sharath K.S

Latest posts by Sharath K.S (see all)